Standards of Practice Committee


Mission Statement

To develop, maintain, and disseminate standards of best practice for SP Educators in order to define the principles, practices, and values expected of the profession.

The Standards of Practice Committee develops standards of best practice using a variety of methodologies and resources. The committee defines general domains with principles, evidence-based knowledge, and practices that encompass the overarching and daily roles & responsibilities of the SP educator profession grounded in underlying values. Once vetted, the committee strategically disseminates and promotes the Standards of Best Practice through publications, presentations, and websites.

Chair (2022-2023):

Karen Lewis, PhD, MAEd, CHSE, University of Texas at Tyler Health Science Center, USA

Past Chair (2020-2021):

Holly Hopkins, Eastern Michigan University, USA

[email protected] 

Committee Members

Carrie Bohnert
Tanya Tiereny
Tonya Thompson
Beate Brem
Melilh Elcin
Amelia Wallace
Holly Hopkins
Tim Webster
Cathy Smith
Marsha Yelen

ASPE Standards of Best Practice (SOBP) were published in 2017 in Advances in Simulation. Click here to read them. The SOBP's are intended to be used in conjunction with the International Nursing Association for Clinical Simulation and Learning (INACSL) Standards of Best Practice: SimulationSM, which address broader simulation practices. You can read them here.