Conference Committee

The Conference Committee produces the ASPE annual conference.  The committee selects plenary and invited speakers, vets abstracts, and plans the daily conference program, among many other tasks.

The Conference Committee works closely with ASPE administration, the VP Finance, and ASPE’s Grants and Research, Membership, Educational Content, and Publications & Website committees to accomplish its mission.


Gina Shannon: Co-Chair, Abstract Submissions Review Subcommittee, Emory University


Anne Woll, MS., University of Minnesota
Bob Bolyard, University of Vermont Larner College of Medicine
Dena Higbee, University of Missouri - Shelden Clinical Simulation Center
Gayle Gliva Mcconvey, Eastern Virginia Medical School
Jamie Pitt, The University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Denise LaMarra, MS., Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
Leanne Picketts, Dalhousie University
Mary Ann Reiner, University of Central Florida
Michae Orfanos, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Sarah Garnaat, Michigan State University
Sue Austin, University of Kansas School of Medicine
Todd Lash, The Ohio State University

Committee Goals Previous Year

  • ASPE 2017 Alexandria!
    • Record submissions and attendance!
    • Quality programming
    • ASPE After hours
  • To review written policies and procedures (35 pages)
    • Revised templates from VP of Operations
  • To promote conference via social media and ASPE eNews (collaboration with Rob MacAulay, chair Website and Social Media Committee, Todd Lash, new chair, Publications committee and KWMG)
  • To support and grow SP day as a subcommittee of the Conference Committee

Committee Goals Upcoming Year

  • Orlando, Florida, USA! “Small World, BIG Ideas - Advancing Best Practices” ASPE 2019!
    • Innovations, Engagement and Leadership: give us feedback!
  • Let’s add 10 people to our conference committee! 
  • We love our vendors!  Seeking 20 vendors to wow our membership.
  • Select locations for 2020, 2021 conferences (with meeting planner and VP Finance)