ASPE Awards Ceremony 2022

Author: Mary Launder, Rosalind Franklin University

I was fortunate to be able to attend the 2022 ASPE Conference “Celebrating Our History, Imagining Our Future”.  What an extremely special conference this past year, we were back in person!!! Looking back there was a wealth of remarkable contributions given to the ASPE community. One way this depth of extraordinary work is highlighted is through the annual awards presented to those outstanding members who serve the ASPE community. Eligible ASPE members are nominated by colleagues and coworkers and the nomination committees hold a standard, fair, and inclusive process. This 2022 awards ceremony was held in person in New Orleans on June 29th, 11:00 AM CST.

You may view the awards ceremony in its entirety via ASPE’s Center for SP Methodology. You may also view via Facebook Page - Association of Standardized Patient Educators (ASPE)

Communications and Connections Committee Mission: “To bring high quality reporting of current research, trends, techniques and information regarding SP methodology and other relevant industry articles to the attention of the membership through the web-based ASPE eNews blog.”

Please provide comments, questions or suggestions about the ASPE eNews Blog here.

ASPE Scholar Certificate
The awards ceremony started with the ASPE Scholars Certificate
presented by Jacqueline R. Klevan
ASPE Scholars complete the required Basic of Scholarship session, as well as requirements in qualitative and/or quantitative measurement and electives, either from the ASPE conference itself or relevant, comparable content from other conferences.

Scholar Certificate 2021-22 Awardees
Kevin Kingston
Katherine Bunting
Annette Bower
Kerensa Peterson
Donna Harrison
Benjamin Kass
Robin Dyer
Sharon Baker

Grants and Research Awards
2022 Certificate of ASPE Grant Awards
Off Script Implementing Rehearsal Methods to Enhance Engagement in Standardized Patient Encounters
Principle Investigator: Robert Keiser
Co-investigators: Amy Bins Calvy, Dr Christine Park, Dr Yunsu Park
Developing Self Efficacy in Breaking Bad News Through a Nurse Practitioner Student Simulation Based Workshop
Co-Principal Investigators: Dr Janet O’Brien and Dr Erin Theralson

ASPE Emerging Leader Award
ASPE Emerging Leader Award presented by last year's award recipient Cory Krebsbach.
To be eligible for the award the nominee must meet these requirements:

  • Be an active member of ASPE
    Have been involved in SP education/training for less than ten (10) years
    Have made significant contributions to the ASPE community at ASPE conferences
    Have made contributions to an ASPE committee

Dr Amber Snyder is the recipient of the 2022 ASPE Emerging Leader Award. Amber hails from the University of Pittsburgh. Colleagues and coworkers recognize her as someone who is dedicated, committed, professional and leads with humility, creativity and a vision for the future of SP methodology. Amber’s talents and accomplishments in Human Simulation Education make her more than deserving of this award.  Congratulations Amber! 

ASPE SP Educator of the Year Award
This was presented by one of last year's award recipients Denise LaMarra.
To be eligible for the award the nominee must:

  • Be an active member of ASPE
    Have been involved in SP education/training for more than ten (10) years;
    Have made a significant contribution to the SP community by providing professional development and/or guidance to newcomers in the field; and
    Be recognized as a leader by working with varying levels of faculty within his or her own institution, the SP community, and in national or international organizations (i.e. ASPE, AAMC, CAME, NBME, ECFMG, SSH, INACSL, AMEE, SESAM, ASPiH, etc.).

Dena Higbee is the recipient of the 2022 ASPE SP Educator of the Year Award. She has been a part of ASPE for over 20 years providing strong leadership in both SP and manikin-based simulations. Dena has volunteered and served on many committees, participated in yearly presentations, is published in many journals and has mentored novices in the field. She has a deep passion and personal commitment to this organization, demonstrating this through the way she gives back to the ASPE community and shares with others what she has learned over the years. She is more than qualified for this award. Congratulations Dena!!

Poster Winners
The Grants and Research Committee (G&R) Sponsors the Poster Awards
Posters are judged based on objective criteria (such as visual appeal, clarity, and significance to SP methodology and ASPE’s mission)

First Place Poster:
M Simulation & Medical School Admissions Teams Collaborate on Multiple Mini Interviews, (MMIs) Online Staffed Exclusively with SPs
Authors: Lou Clark, Dimple Patel, Anne Woll, Crystal Esparza, Laura Walton and Cindy Bartman

Runner-Up Posters:
God’s Work: Using Simulated Patient Encounters to Assess Hospital Chaplaincy Competencies
Authors: Jackie Sidle, debra Slade and John Leopold
OSCE Talking Time Analysis: Students and Standardized patients
Authors: Christina Wise and Grethcehn Lovett
Congratulations to all the 2022 award winners!!!

The awards ceremony was held on the last day of this conference. What a great way to end the conference, celebrating our peers and colleagues!!  We acknowledged the heaviness we may have felt over the past two years. We celebrated the obstacles that we’ve overcome, challenges we’ve met, the joy of being together in person again and that the ASPE community is strong and we keep moving forward to achieve the highest standards of best practice!

Share this post:

Comments on "ASPE Awards Ceremony 2022"

Comments 0-5 of 0

Please login to comment